Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bizarro world

I had a fun but strange evening last night.

I got home from work and Professor K was napping in bed. I was hyper and jumping off the walls.

We decided to take Bailey for a walk. On this walk I casually explained that right now my apartment is suffocating me and that I need to be away from it as much as possible for the next three weeks. Professor K agreed.

We went out to dinner and had terrible service and got to watch a room full of elderly people chew with their mouths open, swipe bread across their plates every few minutes, and shout to be heard. It was disturbing in a funny way. We ordered glasses of red wine that tasted like Windex. The food was pretty good, though.

Got home and watched a tiny bit of TV before heading over to see a friend of mine's new apartment. They just made the move from Waltham to Watertown and are now about five minutes from where I live. I was excited about this at first. Then we went over there and it was just odd.

We just went over there to hang out and have a few beers but it didn't feel fun from the beginning. We got there when we were supposed to but they were just about to eat, so we got to sit in the living room with them while they ate their dinner.

They put on the TV immediately even though they get three fuzzy channels. I felt sort of weirded out by the TV being on - I haven't seen either of them since May and figured we would catch up and talk, but I guess the TV had to be on.

We did look at pictures and talk a bit but the couple had their first fight about half an hour into our visit. I say first because...well...they fought the whole time that we were there. It was horribly awkward. I was embarrassed as hell and the tension in the room after that was thick and uncomfortable. Professor K and I barely looked at each other as I tried to think of ways to leave.

Then they put in a movie, which was the last thing we wanted. I can watch a movie at home - when I come to see your new apartment I anticipate talking, laughing, and possibly sitting out on the new deck. Instead there was TV, and more TV.

We left just before 11 and as soon as we got in the car we breathed a huge sigh of relief. We looked at each other and we both said "let's never be like them!" I could tell that they love each other but they're just horrible.

When Professor K and I got home we were thrilled to be away from that environment. We had sex and went to bed and watched some lighthearted TV and went to sleep. It was very nice.

I'm glad we did so much, it felt great to be out of the house on a weeknight. And tonight we may go see a movie to escape poker night for a few hours. It feels good to be out and about instead of trapped in my slowly-shrinking attic. Three weeks from today is September 1st.

8:41 a.m. - 2004-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones