Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our New Apartment - Movin' On Up...

Big news: we found an apartment!

We first viewed it on Friday after work and we saw it again on Sunday afternoon. We were there for hours, wandering around and mentally moving in.

By the time we'd figured out color schemes and what furniture we'd need to buy we were ready to say "HELL YEAH!" to our new landlord. My parents kicked a thousand dollars our way so we could lock the place in. Thanks Mom and Dad!

The new apartment kicks ass. It's a palace compared to my current place. It's the first floor of a very nice looking house. We have our own wrap around front porch, two bedrooms, a living room with a mantle, a dining room, kitchen, basement laundry hookup and storage room.

The place is clean and very new looking with wainscotting in the kitchen and dining room - gorgeous.

Professor K is really excited about the move. It's his first apartment and he took a bunch of photos with his digital camera and spent a lot of time last night looking at them. It's very cute.

I'm really just more relieved that the hunting is over and I'm slightly anxious about filling out the paperwork on Tuesday evening. Not that I have bad credit or Professor K does, it's just nerve racking. What if something comes up and our badass landlord decides he doesn't want us anymore? That would be devastating. That won't happen but I can't help consider it.

We start our lease September 1st, but he's giving us a key the last week of August so we can move in over a week rather than all in one day. Nice guy, right?

So very very happy about that!

Also, I'm losing weight! Very very happy about that too! I've been pretty damn good at following my Atkins diet and the weight is really starting to come off. I just weighed myself on our work scale and it showed that I've lost about six pounds. My clothes are fitting better and I'm feeling a lot less self-conscious about my body so it must be working.

I've been really careful about not weighing myself too much because that's just depressing - when you're hungry, you want a donut, and you weigh yourself and you've gained a pound. It makes you go eat a box of donuts and say "fuck it".

I really want this to work. I want my body back - I miss it. And Professor K deserves to have a girlfriend with a hot body. He told me the other day that he didn't give a shit how much weight I gained. Every time I say that I want to be thin again he says "you are thin". Awww, sweetie pie. He says all the right things. But I'm losing weight for me, not him. He will benefit from my happiness - nobody wants to make love to someone who's neurotically sensitive about their newly-formed love handles and belly jiggle. I try not to let stupid shit like that affect me but it does.

This upcoming weekend is the fourth of July - my favorite holiday! I've spent every fourth of July down on Cape Cod at my grandparent's house.

Well, one year I was at Washington & Lee University so I watched fireworks go off behind VMI and it was beautiful and well worth it. But that was the only year I missed it. This year will be no exception.

I was a little bummed that Professor K couldn't join us for the celebration - he made plans before we even met - and the fourth is such a huge deal in our family that everyone kept assuming he was coming. But he's been very sick lately and his doctor recommended that he take it easy so he canceled his plans with his friends. And he wants to come to my family's celebration! I'm way too excited about this. I can't wait to have us all together on Saturday afternoon. My brother J, his fiance K, me and Professor K, my mom and dad, my uncle and aunt, and my grandparents. Perfect. Finally an even number.

Last night my Dad said to us that he wished us both the best of luck. It was so sweet. Professor K said he felt like he had proposed because he was so thoroughly welcomed into the family. I love my parents, they are so completely everything I aspire to be when I'm older. I think we have the potential for that kind of solid partnership.

Our anniversary was Sunday - three months. Isn't that ridiculous?

10:33 a.m. - 2004-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones