Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's about friggin time

It's rockin' down the other end of my office.

It's PAH-TY TIME!

Guess why!

It's some random intern's half birthday.

She's 19 and a HALF.

If I hear one more goddamn oldass lady yodel "HOW old are you again?"

"Nineteen and a HALF!"

I'm going to start screaming. Like everyone in the damn office hasn't heard it a million times. It's not a real birthday, I'm sorry, it doesn't deserve singing and yelling and cake and this much attention.

Okay, confession: I really don't like this girl. She annoys me to no end. She and these two other blondes that work here are all butt-buddies and they eat lunch together every day and giggle together and generally have formed a clique. A clique reminiscent of high school, except this time I'm not one of the annoying girls.

I am not a part of this clique, despite our similarities in age range and hair color. I don't have any desire to hang out with these girls, I find them vapid at best and annoying at worst. But they certainly have a presence here, the "blonde clique" and I wonder if people notice that I am not a part of it, as we are the only four young women in our department. My boss noticed - like me, she is not a cliquey person, and she mentioned to me that she was really glad I had not been sucked into their evil group. We laughed about how funny it is when people clique up and look like clones of each other for the security of not having to think, or act independently. My boss and I are very similar people, did I mention this?

I have no desire to be a part of their group - their advances have been met with polite but distant rejection. And they think I'm weird, I know it. I see them looking at me sideways. I just can't explain that I don't have the energy for that kind of interaction. I can't make the effort to be that alive with annoying bitch energy. Just being around the three of them exhausts me, makes me feel O.L.D. But also good about the fact that I've grown out of that phase, that I want more honesty and reality out of my interactions. Real connections, not friendships built on superficial characteristics. I would rather hang out with my 40-something boss all day than spend a half hour eating lunch with the Blitches. (Blonde + Bitch = Blitches)

Anyway, it's this girl's half birthday. I'm not bitter or angry, just irritated at the amount of attention got thrown her way for such an insignificant day. It's Friday, I just want to get out of here so I can have fun with my tiny family and go look at apartments and go see Michael Moore's new movie and then go to bed and get to sleep in tomorrow. That's all I want. And I don't have the patience for this bullshit. Half birthday my ass.

________________________________________

Apartment hunting is fun fun fun! Especially when the places I'm looking at are much much nicer than my current apartment - add another income to the rent and you can look at nice places. I'm such a geek cooing over adds. "TWO bedrooms! Grass! A dishwasher!!!" You'd think I lived in a cardboard box on the street. But real estate is fun and walking through a new place, imagining your stuff there and commuting to and from, that really excites me. Professor K is totally getting into the swing of things too. We had fun looking last night and I"m looking forward to looking tonight too.

I'm so excited about living with him. Having made the decision I can't wait to be in our new place, setting up our stuff, knowing that finally he doesn't have to leave to go home. I think my anxiety was more about making the decision than it was about actually going through with it. It's always very rewarding to make a decision and immediately know that it was the right one. Seriously, how often does that happen?

3:06 p.m. - 2004-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones