Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a sibling for Bailey?

Should we get a kitten???

Professor K and I are currently in the throes of the most spontaneous "we want to get a kitten" fever ever.

Yesterday, as I was writing that diary entry about the cat on my deck, an email came through to Mary about a woman who also works here that has four kittens that need homes. They're free, and they are almost ready to leave their mom.

I jumped at the chance to see pictures of kittens and contacted the woman to see them. They are adorable, two are black, one is orange, and one is white with gray ears and paws. I liked the orange one right off the bat and e-mailed the Professor, semi-jokingly, about how cute they were and whether I should get one.

He responded rather enthusiastically too, but pointed out several of the negatives - money, Bailey, I'm allergic, blah blah blah.

Did I mention that when someone tries to convince me not to do something it immediately makes me want to do it more?

He really wants to get a kitten but he's trying to keep a level head. I really want to get a kitten and am NOT trying to keep a level head.

I had a cat and a dog for a brief period of pet bliss - from February to June 2002 - and it was a great experience. Two people and two pets works really well. And I think it would be really good for Bailey to have a little brother - I want a boy cat just like her older brother Simon. Who I may never see again...

There are some "omens" that make me think I should give in to my random desire for a cat:

(1)the sudden appearance of a cat on my deck yesterday morning, the first time that's ever happened, that made me think "i want a cat",

(2)arriving at work and receiving notice that there are free kittens to a good home while typing a diary entry about the cat on my deck,

(3)the available kittens were born on March 31st, which is also Simon's birthday,

(4)Professor K liked the same kitten that I did,

(5)Bailey had a run-in with an adorable gray cat today while we were on our morning walk - she was off her leash - and when the cat came right up to her and rolled on its back and pawed at her, Bailey responded like she wanted to play, she didn't bare her teeth or growl or anything!,

(6)the kittens were born and currently reside in Florida, and Bailey is from Louisiana so they'd have similar accents,

(7)this is Professor K's addition: we watched the Simpsons the other night and it was the episode where Snowball II dies and Lisa gets a bunch more cats and ultimately ends up with a Snowball II - lookalike.

And so currently we're going back and forth about it - the kittens will be in Massachusetts on Sunday and are almost ready to go home with people. I got additional pictures of the kittens today and they are so adorable. Now we need to know sexes and temperments - I want the most chill kitty they have, and I want it to be a boy.

The white kitty with gray ears is heart-meltingly cute, but the orange kitty was my first choice and Professor K's too (he had an orange kitty as a little boy). I went to a website of Irish baby names and came up with some good ones that mean "little fiery one" that would go well with an orange cat. And he and I agreed that an Irish name was the way to go - we're both half Irish descent and seem to recognize that aspect of our histories/lineages more than the other 50%. The kitten's name will have to go well with Bailey too...

We're so random. But really it would kind of complete the family - I think one of Professor K's reasons for wanting a kitten with us (me and Bailey) is that it would be a pet that was "his" as much as "mine". Bailey is clearly my dog, she loves him but I've been with her for over two years and there's a bond there that he can never hope to recreate. The kitten would be the other boy in the family and would also be ours together. How sweet.

This is so fun! We might have a kitten in a matter of a week or two! Or maybe we won't...no decision has been made yet.

10:40 a.m. - 2004-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones