Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sleeping on the job

I just woke up. It's 1:00pm on a Wednesday afternoon and I just woke up. Make no mistake, I'm at work. Otherwise it wouldn't be so weird.

Let me explain...

I'm reading this book, The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz. It's good but very simplistic, no difficult concepts to grasp. Just simple advice for happy living. I've found some tiny pearls of wisdom throughout. For instance, the second agreement for life is "don't take anything personally", which is something I attempt to apply professionally, but have never considered applying to everyday life. Here is what Ruiz says: "Nothing other people do is because of you. It is because of themselves. All people live in their own dream, in their own mind; they are in a completely different world from the one we live in. When we take something personally, we make the assumption that they know what is in our world, and we try to impose our world on their world".

I think that's a fairly good thing to keep in mind. It makes sense, really. Anyway, it's an interesting book. I've been reading it during lunch when I'm at work. I don't have a lot of friends at work - well, real friends - so I spend my lunches either working at my desk or reading. I'm not a loser or anything, it's just that 90% of the people that I work with are either men and women pushing 60, or 30-40 somethings with kids. Not much to talk about there. My last job spoiled me - so many delightful young women my own age, bright, pretty, fun. It was like a high school clique, only really positive and supportive. I miss that....

So today I got hungry early, around 11:45. I wandered into the cafeteria and got something to eat, then went down to my favorite hidden conference room to read and zone out. It took me ten minutes to eat my food - I was hungry, remember - and I read for a bit. But I could feel my mind wandering. So I put the book down and decided to just let my mind wander the way it seemed to want to go. I put my head on my arms, closed my eyes, and drifted. It was pleasantly warm, quiet, and removed from my desk.

I woke up half an hour later with a crick in my neck and drool on my arm. Apparently it's easy to fall asleep in the middle of the day. At least for me. Sleeping is so pleasant sometimes. I had to laugh when I looked at the clock and realized what had happened. Oh well. This is why they pay me, right?

12:58 p.m. - 2004-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones