Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

White Christmas

I'm trying to read diaries but I keep thinking about my new coat. My new fur coat! Fur is terrible, I don't endorse the farm raising of animals for the purpose of making expensive coats for people who don't need them. But... yay me!

It's not all fur, just the cuffs and the hood. The rest of the coat is soft soft lambswool, black, and then fox fur trim. It feels like a heavily, heavy dream. I wore it to work today and since it's the first snow we've had on a work day it felt very appropriate.

Professor K gave it to me for Christmas. He got me a bunch of other stuff too that I haven't opened yet but last night we decided to open one gift each.

He chose the one that he knew was the extended Return of the King DVD. I selected the one that I knew was a fur coat since he basically told me that it was. He was nervous that I wouldn't like it but I ripped into it with glee and loved it - it's something I would have picked out for myself. Only I never would have spent that much on a coat so it's even better.

I love my new coat. I'm thinking about naming it.

I am also wearing new perfume which always makes me feel exciting until I get to the point where I can't smell it anymore. It's "So Pretty" by Cartier. I got it as a vacation gift from Kevin's parents. They bought it while they were in Aruba a few weeks ago and gave it to me when they saw me yesterday at the Christmas party. There are apparently other gifts for me (yay!) but I won't be getting the Christmas loot until next week. I like the perfume a lot and suspect that Professor K's sister may have picked it out. Now I own three scents that I like and I anticipate getting a fourth from the Professor on Friday (I peeked, sue me).

This is the first Christmas that I've gotten this excited in a long time. Professor K and I have worked really hard to make it magical and memorable. I know we've gone overboard in the gift department but we know that the first Christmas is special. We won't be seeing each other at all this coming weekend so we're opening gifts Friday morning with our pets. Then we part until Monday. That's going to be sad for both of us.

This week should be a short, easy week. I didn't get here until almost 10 a.m. thanks to snow traffic and a stop by the bank. I have very little to do and I'm just thinking about the menu for Bailey's birthday on Tuesday and any last minute gifts that I want to get.

I really wanted to get Professor K a video game or two and I'm not sure what he'll like, but I'd rather give him an actual game than a gift card. He has Halo 2 but I think he wanted a Lord of the Rings game that we saw a commercial for. Has it come out yet? Would I know it if I saw it in the store?

I had a really great weekend overall. It went by so quickly! Saturday was Christmas shopping and wrapping, napping, and fun with friends. Laughing my ass off with friends. That's the best feeling in the world.

Sunday was the Family O' Professor K Christmas party and I got to meet his extended family. I can say honestly that I had a blast! They were all really cool and welcomed me with open arms, teasing me once I felt comfortable and laughing at my funnyisms.

I loved being out on the deck cracking up the younger crew - they actually took the Professor aside at one point and told him how much they liked me. I felt so warm and fuzzy about that. We all exchanged phone numbers and addresses before we left so we could get together. Professor K's parents gave me presents and kissed and hugged me before we left, saying how happy they were that I had come up. I love his family! I love being with someone who also comes from a happy, loving, fun family.

We stopped at my parents' house on the way back from Maine to pick up Bailey, who we'd left to be cared for. We ended up staying for dinner. At that point the day had to be dubbed "day of the family". But we ate for free all day and got to open presents.

Once we got home we lit candles and lay on the couch looking at the tree and listening to Christmas carols - the longest version of Rudolph the Red Nose reindeer in the world! We agreed to open one present and then I frolicked around in my coat while P.K. read his LOTR booklet. We went for a walk with Bailey and then came home and (dirty stuff removed) and then we went to sleep watching Return of the King.

I'm feeling very full of love today. Very happy and lucky. The snow outside is magical this close to Christmas and Thursday is a half day! Maybe I'll go rub my coat...

10:24 a.m. - 2004-12-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones