Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boxwine was purchased, and Christmas presents too

Okay, more money was dropped at the mall during my enjoyable lunch hour.

I almost killed an older gentleman in the parking lot that decided that it was completely reasonable to walk in front of a moving car. And then glare at me as I had a small heart attack.

I know, I'm at fault, but the guy was an inch from my car and he came rather suddenly out of the side-parked cars and just continued to walk as if I was not already way too close to him. Yes, I could have slammed on my brakes but I felt that any sane human being would have stopped rather than risk death if, say, my head was turned the other way as I searched in vain for a parking space.

An XL Rodney Harrison jersey was purchased, a big red sweater was purchased, a soft indigo cashmere/silk sweater was purchased, and a slick gray button down shirt with threads of sparkly stuff was purchased. Stuff for my dad and stuff for Professor K. I am broking myself on these men in my life. I still have not purchased a single gift for the womenfolk.

Last night was the second night in a row that I was unable to watch my show due to champagne, sex, and napping. Tonight I am watching my show and that is final! Also, box wine was purchased last night and that excites me greatly. An evening of lesbian drama and box wine is perfect on a freezing cold December Wednesday. No Christmas shopping at night! I made that mistake last night and it was not fun. And now I am having second thoughts about sizes and may have to return what I bought last night to get larger items.

I felt pity for the guy who waited on me while I was checking out at the mall today. The woman in front of me was one of those ubershoppers with a huge purse that barely conceals the ginormous wallet, an eerily detailed knowledge of the sales and coupons, and "the customer is always right" demands up the yin yang. "Do you have more boxes than that? Not the small ones, the really big ones? Can I have more than that because they were all out in that other department and I really need them." No "thank you", and then a loooong wait while she attempted to stuff her wallet back into her purse.

He and I made rolling-our-eyes eye contact and we were instant friends. I didn't even know about the sale they were having, had no coupons, and didn't demand any. So he swiped a coupon for me and I got 20% off. Yay! Which says to me that you totally do not have to be a penny-pinching whore when you go into a department store. The clerks will help you if you treat them like human beings.

Perhaps you can tell that I worked at Macy's one summer during college? It was really fun at first and just dwindled into awfulness as the days passed. I still do not understand how my schedule went from three or four days a week and one weekend day every other weekend, to five or six days a week and both weekend days of every week.

Stupidly I reported it to my manager, assuming it was a mistake. Apparently it was standard to slip in the extra ten million hours. Retail work sucks ass and only really patient people who can stand on their feet for eight hours at a stretch are any good at it. I am not one of those people. I spent long periods of time hunkered down in the stock room. Or "folding" behind a particularly tall display of clothing. As a result I have a great deal of sympathy for all retail clerks.

3:46 p.m. - 2004-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones